## February 2012 History Looking Back at the Men of Holy Trinity By Susan Exley

In order for any church to be successful and survive many must assume numerous roles. At Holy Trinity the following mentions only a few of the oldest men that chose to step forward and do their part. T. E. Zipperer was the first congregational Secretary and first Sunday School Superintendent. Herbert A. Reisser was treasurer of Holy Trinity from its founding in 1912 to 1945 for a total of 33 years. Herbert was one of the first deacons elected along with W. A. Jaudon, and R. E. Shearouse. Elders elected then were: C. W. Shearouse, Allen B. Kieffer and H. A. Seckinger.

Contractor for the building of the church was J. Robert Tebeau. Carpenters and many who contributed to our buildings over the years were: Jim Tebeau, Hollis Tebeau, Troy Tebeau, Otto Hart, Newton Kieffer and his sons and many others including the property committee through the years.

Judge Paul Shearouse (longtime Sunday School teacher and Superintendent), Julian Shearouse (taught young married and older teenagers), Herman Gnann (taught young people and adults), Hollis Teabeau (taught adults) Mac Marchman (taught pre-teens and was longtime church treasurer), Arte Tebeau (taught adults), Jackson Zipperer (taught adults), Ross Rountree (taught adults) and many others were Sunday School Teachers and these served in many other roles, too. Many served the Sunday School including John Tebeau who served at least 30 years as Sunday School Treasurer.

Throughout the years there have been many active sets of brothers in this church. At the present time one set of older brothers still takes an active part; Edwin (longtime custodian), Arthur and Preston have all served in many positions in our church and Sunday School.

Many men have served on the kitchen committees at Holy Trinity. We had no kitchen until the social hall was built in 1951, and either cooked outside or utilized facilities at the nearby Masonic Hall for suppers and events. Several of those who served long terms in the kitchen are Rodney Peavy, Edwin Exley and W. C. Hall and they served in many other roles.

Some men that served on the council, in other capacities and on committees include: Herman Gnann, Chancey Exley, Bill Ford, Charlton Tebeau, Lonnie Alderman, Henry Wilkins, Virgil Zoller, Hubert Carr, Dallas Exley, Franklin Edwards, Jr., Russell Burns, Ravenell Weitman, Mark Steigerwalt, Herman Weitman, Elbert Weitman, Freddie Weitman, Paul Brinson, Edward Gnann, Jim Long, Otto Gnann, Charlie Hinely, Earl Shearouse, Richard Nizzi, Ralph Gnann, Mitchell Weitman, Felton Arnsdorff, Parker Ford, Charles Hinely, Hugh Ford, Eustace Ford and others too numerous to mention.

Men (as well as women of the congregation) have led us and many younger men, not mentioned here, are all very important making history as they serve Christ in leadership of our congregation today.